How Do I Love You?

(A personalization of P.K. Hallinan’s “How Do I Love You?” children’s book)
By Mia, via her Daddy

How do I love you? Well, more than just a tad.
Sometimes I even love you, more than I love Dad.
I love the way you hug me after a bath.
I love the way you always make me laugh.
I love the way you had me, instead of a son.
I love the way you wear two shirts, instead of one.
I love the way you read to me, sitting in your lap.
I love when you tuck me in, for my afternoon nap.
I love the way you push me, on my bike,
And when you take me to the park, for an exciting hike.
I love your patience, even when I’m go-go-go.
I love the way you ask me questions I already know.
I love the way you walk me, in my stroller,
And how you’ll flip when you find my first molar.
I smile when you smile, and I’m sorry when I make you mad.
And even though I love time-out, you take me outside instead.
I love the way you get my hat, to protect my hair from the wind.
And museums and gymboree, and all the crazy places we’ve been.
I love the way you play with me, building with my blocks.
And when we watch TV, man that JoJo rocks!
I love the way you let me help, anyway I can.
I love the way I get my lotion, to protect my summer tan.
I love it when I get to eat, all by myself,
And when you show me pictures, up on top of the shelf.
How do I love you? It’s impossible to say.
I’ll spend all my days,
Coming up with creative new ways,
To show you just how much,
I love you.

Leave a Reply

